The School of Sight


Last week Saturday, I was able to visit a school, along with my classmates and my teacher for my SPED 7 subject. A school wherein I was truly amazed on how students are able to function and study like the normal people despite the fact that they have something lacking within themselves-the sight.

Yes, I am talking about the Davao School And Rehabilitation Center For The Visually Impaired or locally known to be the School for the Blind located at Talomo, Davao City, Philippines. The ride was long, with the traffic added and the noon ambience (considering we departed from the school at 11:00AM, I think). I was hungry and sweaty and sleepy at that time, for I woke up that morning from a thesis night.

But everything will be forgotten once you arrived at the place. The place is very peaceful. I even joke about being on a retreat house with the peacefulness and maybe how quiet the place is. My teacher told us to be quiet or maybe lower and tone down our voice. We waited for maybe 20-30 minutes before we were entertained by the principal of the school whom to my surprise is also blind. Yes, and I was amazed. He talked about the history of the school, answered our questions and even posed for a photo-opt with us.


12079700_884082868346024_2489853739234084978_n


After the orientation, we were given the chance to roam around the school. At first, we just went around the grounds with ourselves, grouped according to friend. Haha. And we found one legally blind boy, I think for t’was my classmates who interview him, doing the laundry. AMAZEBALLS! He was shy. Yes, he was that I told my friends to just stop bugging him and to leave him alone.

After some photo-opts, we went back to the front grounds, we saw 3 blind young men who are giving tours to my other classmates. Considering how lucky they are, I went to the crowd and walked with one of the three men. He had the chance to hit me but I didn’t say a word and kept quiet because I really don’t know how to act around them. I am shy. I walked with him until I finally spoke and asked him to give us a tour around the school. He is Aldrin (at first I thought that it was Alden, I’m an AlDub fan and it was Saturday that day for cheesesticks!), and I was really amazed on how he did toured us around the school. He knew all of the rooms well, and never missed or gotten wrong. He even read the braille poster on a classroom! I have trouble reading braille still because all I know was the Grade 1 braille, if not mistaken. I haven’t memorized the shortcuts of certain words.

After the tour, I settled under the tree to watch AlDub (I told you so).  Then, someone did played the drums. And my classmates run to the stage for t’was a blind boy, playing. I really don’t know who was that because I was consumed with the tv haha.

I am always grateful for the opportunity of visiting the school because it really proved that people can really live, despite the disability. I would like to share some thoughts of the principal of the school. That in the school, they teach students to live and function like a normal one. Amazing advocate. Amazing people. Amazing!

Did I over used the word Amazing? Amazing isn’t it?

IMG_20151003_131126 IMG_20151003_131131 IMG_20151003_131218 IMG_20151003_131328 IMG_20151003_133102 12105824_884081508346160_6287352567758689253_n

PS. Never mind my face. Hags all along. 


Leave a Reply

